The Tribulations of August Barton

Young Adult Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Coming of Age, Contemporary Romance

“Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower will devour this in one sitting”

August Barton could never have mentally prepared himself for his freshman year of college: not only has his anxiety increased, but his parents are divorcing, his new roommate thinks Augie is the biggest nerd in existence, and his grandma, a retired prostitute named Gertie, has taken to running away from her nursing home. Augie just wants to hole up in his dorm room with his Star Wars collectables and textbooks, but Gertie is not about to let that happen. What ensues is a crazy ride including naked trespassing, befriending a local biker gang, and maybe-just maybe-with Augie defeating his anxiety and actually getting the girl.

 

Reviews

"LeBlanc's coming-of-age tale about a nervous new college freshman is an odd, but charming blend of modern college life with an old-fashioned feel. Augie's personality is awkward, altruistic, and funny, and it's a pleasure to watch him grow as he and the other entertaining characters live through a sweet, relatively wholesome season."

- Publishers Weekly

"Jennifer LeBlanc's coming of age story for new adults, The Tribulations of August Barton, is a hilarious and life-affirming tale that kept me enthralled and thrilled throughout my entire reading experience. I love LeBlanc's Augie whose geekiness, romanticism and kind heart make him so very special. Seeing his outrageous grannie and her best friend,Tunes, drag him kicking and screaming into life is sheer joy. LeBlanc's story is beautifully written, and her characters are finely drawn and unforgettable. And, like Isaac, I suspect anyone who has the good fortune to come across this book will see senior citizens in an entirely different way afterwards. The Tribulations of August Barton is most highly recommended."

- Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

"I enjoyed the author's writing style. I loved the first few lines of the book. The story flowed well, and the characters were engaging."

- Literary Titan

“Right off the bat I enjoyed LeBlanc’s energetic narrative voice and that she captures the vibe and angst of the late teen/new adult crowd perfectly.”

- Anabella Johnson (Indie Book Reviewers)

"I felt like I was genuinely inside Augie's head experiencing the world through his eyes, for better or worse."

- Marcella Gonzales (Indie Book Reviewers)

"An exciting and relatable debut with a laugh out loud effect."

-IAC (Indie Author Central) Submissionary

"It’s a decent “feel good” story, kind of like a Lifetime movie or something you’d see on the Hallmark channel. (And let me tell you, I’m a total sucker for those movies.) I enjoyed it and I think you would too."

- Causeway Lit Blog

"FIVE BOUNDLESS STARS! It was so much fun to read and at other times it was so touching it made me want to cry. This book was just really good. It was full of humor, romance, and drama. The characters were awesome. All around it was a great story and I really enjoyed it."

- Boundless Book Reviews Book Blog

 

Also available as an audiobook

tToAB audiobook.jpg
5star-shiny-hr.png
 
Looking for Book 2, "The Revelations of August Barton"? Click Here
Subscribe to my Newsletter

Get exclusive Book Bonuses & Author Updates!

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • Goodreads
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Tumblr Icon

© 2019 by Jennifer LeBlanc

Website created by The Author Website Creator